Regulatory frameworks such as CSRD and the EU taxonomy mean that more and more companies have no option but to implement ESG reporting (Environmental, Social & Governance).

In the financial sector in particular, there are additional regulations and requirements, such as the Disclosure Regulation (SFDR), the European ESG Template and MiFID II.

Driven by Regulatory Requirements or a Self-Developed Initiative

Many companies have set themselves important goals on their own initiative and want to achieve their own climate neutrality (“Net Zero”) by 2050, for example. Other companies are being forced to act by EU regulatory requirements such as the Taxonomy Regulation, the Disclosure Regulation (SFDR)the Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD), or even the implementation of these via IDD or MiFID II.

We know both the path to the goals that result from independent initiative and the implementation of the EU ESG requirements with SAP Analytics. That is why, with our expertise in SAP Analytics (SAP BW/4HANA, SAP HANA, SAP Analytics Cloud and SAP BusinessObjects), we are an important partner for our clients and together we are already implementing various sustainability projects.

Environ­mental

Evaluation of investments based on ecological aspects:

  • Environmental protection
  • Reduction of greenhouse gas emissions
  • Environmentally friendly production
  • Investment in renewable energies
  • Efficient use of energy and raw materials

Social

Social
(Social)

Evaluation of investments based on social aspects:
  • Compliance with occupational safety & labour laws
  • Health protection
  • Diversity, equal opportunities and social engagement
  • Product liability & product responsibility

Governance

Governance
(Governance)

Evaluation of investments based on corporate governance:
  • Management and control processes
  • Transparent measures to prevent corruption & bribery
  • Anchoring sustainability management at board and supervisory board level
  • Linking executive board remuneration to the achievement of sustainability goals
  • Dealing with whistleblowing

Moreover, consumer interests, brand positioning, in-house or industry initiatives in the area of sustainability are also bringing this new perspective to more and more reporting departments – whether they already exist or have been created specifically for this purpose. Where this has not yet happened, it will often become relevant starting with the financial year 2025. This date marks the start of the CSRD scope to also include non-listed, larger companies.

The need for sustainable ESG reporting and ESG steering solutions is increasing

The EU and consumers are therefore sending a clear signal: sustainability disclosures are here to stay. This also means that there is a need for IT solutions that:

This is how successful ESG reporting works

Despite the relatively new topic, we at BIG.Cube have already proven that we are a reliable and strong partner in ESG reporting, both through our professional know-how as a bridge builder to IT and through our technical expertise: From the professional orientation phase to the Business Analysis and technical conceptual design of new data models through to implementation and productive support, or even specifically for selected subareas.

From our experience, we know how complex, exceptional and volatile regulatory requirements in the area of ESG reporting can be. This is precisely where we create the essential added value for successful projects with our flexible and tried-and-tested, agile BIG.Cube project approach. We rely on industry and technical expertise as well as best practice approaches in data modelling for ESG reporting requirements to ensure the success of the project:

Business Concept

Business Concept:

We support you in the initial orientation with regard to the requirements for ESG reporting in the company through our long-term expertise in this area. Our experience will provide you with significant support in developing a target vision for ESG reporting that is customised to your needs based on first analysis results, like a materiality analysis, or the integration of ESG reporting into your company.

Solution Design

Solution Design:

An initial technical analysis creates an initial solution design, customised to your needs, system landscapes and processes. Here we apply our years of project and line experience in ESG reporting.

Business Analysis

Business Analysis:

Based on the rough business concept, we move on to the detailed analysis and seamlessly bridge the often crucial gap between business and technical implementation.

Technical Conception

Technical Conception:

When creating a detailed technical concept for your ESG solution, we take into account proven best practice approaches as well as crucial details that are still largely unknown in this field. Our aim is to develop a sustainable, expandable and holistic ESG reporting. This can only be achieved with the necessary expert knowledge of ESG data and requirements.

Implemen-tation

Implementation:

Thanks to our expertise in SAP Analytics, SAP HANA and SAP BTP, we are a strong partner in the implementation of your ESG reporting in SAP Analytics - from data connection to the ESG KPI dashboard. We also have the knowledge to deal with other ESG solutions, such as the Sustainability Control Tower, and can offer you an optimal consulting service.

Data Quality

Data Quality:

Together we achieve more than just ex-post transparency on your ESG data in reporting. With our Q-THOR software, you can identify possible misalignments at an early stage and well before the actual ESG Reporting and can initiate measures in good time. This way, you ensure the best possible "quality at source" and save considerable costs and time in the reporting process.

The way to your automated ESG reporting

No matter how advanced you already are in the topic of ESG Reporting, we are happy to support you and adapt our services to your requirements and needs.

Get In Touch With Us Now

Use Case: Financial Services

A Sustainable Approach

One of the most complex examples of ESG reporting is the financial services sector due to its very comprehensive scope.

Experience has clearly shown that it is beneficial to initially bring the various source data together in one place. Due to the need for auditability, we recommend a technology with high traceability and the implementation of data quality assurance.

The next step involves matching the data to the respective asset or issuer, in parallel with a harmonisation ans standardisation of the data to create a central ESG layer. This processed, high-quality data and the calculated KPIs can and should be provided to the entire company for various purposes as a single point of truth.

In previous & current projects in SAP systems, the focus here is on requirements:

  • Regulation (EU) 2020/852 Taxonomy Regulation
  • Directive (EU) 2022/2464 as regards corporate sustainability reporting
  • Regulation (EU) 2019/2088 Disclosure Regulation and the resulting EET, e.g.
  • Directive 2014/65/EU on Markets in Financial Instruments (MiFID II)
  • Internal group initiatives or even voluntary reporting initiatives such as AOA, SASB etc.

Objectives of ESG Repor­ting

The goals of the ESG KPI calculations are very diverse: deliveries via existing interfaces to Group reporting, standardised reports or Self-Service ESG Dashboards can be counted among them. Data products are also provided in the “data as a service” concept to other downstream systems, e.g. for active sustainability controlling & steering purposes.

Durch regulatorische Rahmenbedingungen wie CSRD und EU-Taxonomie führt für immer mehr Unternehmen kein Weg am ESG-Reporting (Environmental, Social & Governance) vorbei.

Insbesondere im Finanzbereich kommen hier noch weitere Regulatorien und Vorgaben hinzu, wie z. B. die Offenlegungsverordnung (SFDR), das European ESG Template oder auch im Rahmen von MiFID II.

Ge­trieben von regula­torische Vorga­ben oder Eigen­initiative

Viele Unter­­nehmen haben sich aus Eigen­­initia­­tive wichtige Ziele gesetzt und wollen so bei­spiels­­weise bis 2050 die eigene Klima­­neutrali­tät („Net Zero“) errei­chen. Andere Unter­nehmen werden durch EU-re­gu­la­tori­sche Vor­gaben wie beispielsweise die Ta­xo­no­mie-Ver­­ordnung, die Offen­­legungs-Ver­­ordnung (SFDR), die Richtlinie zur Unternehmens-Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung (Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive, CSRD) oder auch durch deren Um­­setzung über IDD oder MiFID II zum Han­deln gezwungen.

Wir kennen sowohl den Weg zu den Zie­len, die sich aus Eigen­initia­tive ergeben, als auch die Um­setzung der EU ESG-Vor­gaben mit SAP Analy­tics. Des­halb sind wir mit unse­rer Exper­tise in SAP Analy­tics (SAP BW/4HANA, SAP HANA, SAP Analy­tics Cloud sowie SAP Busi­nessObjects) ein wichti­ger Part­ner für unsere Kunden und setzen gemein­sam bereits diverse Projek­te der Nach­­haltig­­keit und Zu­kunfts­­­fähig­keit (sustain­a­­blility) um.

Environ­mental (Umwelt)

Bewer­tung von Invest­­ments anhand öko­lo­gischer Aspekte:

  • Umwelt­­schutz
  • Verring­erung von Treib­haus­gas­­emissionen
  • Umwelt­­verträgliche Produktion
  • Investi­­tionen in erneuer­bare Energien
  • Effizienter Umgang mit Energie und Roh­stoffen

Social (Sozial)

Social
(Sozial)

Bewer­tung von Invest­­ments anhand sozia­ler Aspekte:
  • Ein­haltung von Arbeits­­sicherheit & Arbeits­­rechten
  • Gesund­heits­­schutz
  • Diversität, Chancen­gleichheit und gesell­schaft­liches Engagement
  • Produkt­­haftung & Produkt­­verantwortung

Governance (Kontrolle)

Governance
(Kontrolle)

Be­wertung von Invest­­ments anhand der Unter­­nehmens­­führung:
  • Steuerung- und Kontroll­­prozesse
  • Trans­­parente Maß­nahmen zur Ver­hinderung von Korrup­tion & Bestechung
  • Ver­ankerung des Nach­haltig­keits­­managements auf Vor­stands- und Aufsichts­ratsebene
  • Ver­knüpfung der Vorstands­­vergütung mit dem Erreichen von Nach­haltig­­keits­zielen
  • Umgang mit Whistle­­blowing

Aber auch durch Verbraucherinteressen, Markenpositionierung, Eigen- oder Brancheninitiativen im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit kommt diese neue Perspektive in immer mehr Reportingabteilungen an – sei es, dass sie bereits existieren oder dediziert dafür geschaffen wurden. Wo noch nicht geschehen, wird dies häufig ab dem Berichtsjahr 2025 relevant. Dieses Datum markiert den Start der Erweiterung des Anwendungsbereichs der CSRD auch auf nicht-börsenorientierte, größere Unternehmen.

Der Bedarf an nachhaltigen ESG-Reporting und -Steuerungslösungen steigt

Die EU sowie Verbraucher senden also ein klares Zeichen: Offenlegungen im Nachhaltigkeitsbereich sind gekommen, um zu bleiben. Das bedeutet auch einen Bedarf an IT-Lösungen, welche:

So funktio­niert erfolg­reiches ESG-Repor­ting

Trotz des verhältnismäßig jungen Themas haben wir bei BIG.Cube bereits bewiesen, dass wir im ESG-Reporting sowohl durch unser fachliches Know-How, als Brückenbauer zur IT als auch durch unsere technische Expertise ein zuverlässiger und starker Partner sind: Von der fachlichen Orientierungsphase über die Business Analyse und technische Konzeption neuer Datenmodelle bis hin zur Umsetzung und Produktivbetreuung, oder auch ganz gezielt für ausgewählte Teilbereiche davon.

Aus unserer Erfahrung heraus wissen wir wie komplex, ausnahmenbehaftet und volatil regulatorische Anforderungen im Bereich ESG-Reporting sein können. Genau hier schaffen wir mit unserer flexiblen und vielfach bewährten, agilen BIG.Cube Projektvorgehensweise den essenziellen Mehrwert für erfolgreiche Projekte. Wir setzen für den Projekterfolg auf Branchen- und Fachkompetenz sowie auf best practice Ansätze in der Datenmodellierung für ESG-Reportinganforderungen:

Fach-Konzeption

Fach-Konzeption:

Wir unterstützen bei der anfänglichen Orientierung hinsichtlich der Anforderungen an das ESG-Reporting im Unternehmen durch unsere langjährigen Experten in diesem Bereich. Unsere Erfahrungswerte unterstützen Sie maßgeblich bei der Entwicklung eines auf Ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnittenen Zielbildes im ESG-Reporting auf der Basis erster Grundlagen, wie z. B. einer Materialitätsanalyse oder auch der Eingliederung des ESG-Reportings in Ihr Unternehmen.

Solution Design

Solution Design:

Eine erste technische Analyse erwirkt ein erstes Solution Design, zugeschnitten auf Ihre Bedürfnisse, Systemlandschaften und Prozesse. Hierbei lassen wir unsere langjährige Projekt- und Linienerfahrung im ESG-Reporting einfließen.

Business Analyse

Business Analyse:

Aufsetzend auf der fachlichen Grobkonzeption gehen wir in die Detailanalyse und überbrücken die oft entscheidende Lücke zwischen Fachlichkeit und technischer Umsetzung nahtlos.

Technisiche Konzeption

Technische Konzeption:

Bei der Er­stellung einer ESG-Repor­ting Konzep­tion berück­­sich­tigen wir Ihre indi­vi­­duellen Möglich­­­keiten und Voraus­­­setzungen. Unser Ziel ist es dabei, ein nach­haltiges, erweiter­­bares und ganz­­heitliches ESG-Repor­ting aufzu­bauen. Dies gelingt nur mit dem nötigen Expertenwissen über ESG-Daten und –Anforderungen.

Umsetzung

Umsetzung:

Durch unsere Expertise in SAP Analytics, SAP HANA und SAP BTP sind wir ein starker Partner in der Umsetzung Ihres ESG-Reportings in SAP Analytics – von der Datenanbindung bis hin zum ESG KPI-Dashboard. Aber auch mit anderen ESG-Lösungen, wie z. B. mit dem Sustainability Control Tower, wissen wir umzugehen und Ihnen eine optimale Beratungsleistung anbieten zu können. 

Daten­qualität

Datenqualität:

Gemein­sam errei­chen wir mehr als nur die Trans­parenz ex-post über Ihre ESG-Daten im Repor­ting. Mit unserer Software Q-THOR er­kennen Sie früh­­­zeitig und weit vor der eigent­lichen ESG Bericht­­­erstattung mögliche Schief­­­stände und können recht­­zeitig Maß­nahmen ein­leiten. So stellen Sie die best­­mögliche „quality at source“ sicher und sparen er­heblich Kosten und Zeit im Repor­ting-Prozess ein.

Der Weg zu Ihrem automatisierten ESG-Reporting

Ganz egal wie weit Sie im Thema ESG-Repor­­ting be­reits sind: Wir unter­­stützen Sie gerne und passen unsere Dienst­­leistun­gen an Ihre An­­forderun­­gen und Bedürf­­nisse an.

Sprechen Sie uns an

Use Case: Finanz­­dienst­leis­tun­gen

Ein nach­haltiger Ansatz

Eines der komplexesten Beispiele im ESG-Reporting besteht in der Finanzdienstleistungs-branche aufgrund des sehr umfassenden Scopes.
Es zeigt sich erfahrungsgemäß von Vorteil, die diversen Quelldaten hierzu zunächst an einem Ort zusammenzubringen. Aufgrund der benötigten Auditierbarkeit empfehlen wir eine Technologie mit hoher Nachvollziehbarkeit sowie die Implementierung einer Datenqualitätssicherung.
Im nächsten Schritt erfolgt ein Matching zum jeweiligen Asset bzw. zum Emittenten sowie die Harmonisierung und Normierung der Daten hin zu einem zentralen ESG Layer. Diese aufbereiteten und qualitativ hochwertigen Daten und auch bereits die fertig berechneten KPIs können und sollten nun dem gesamten Unternehmen für unterschiedliche Anwendungen zur Verfügung gestellt werden als single point of truth­.

­­­­­­In bis­herigen & aktu­ellen Projekten in ­SAP Systemen geht es hier um An­forder­ungen zu:

  • Ver­ordnung (EU) 2020/852 Taxo­nomie-Verordnung
  • Richtlinie (EU) 2022/2464 hinsichtlich der Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung von Unternehmen
  • Ver­ordnung (EU) 2019/2088 Offen­legungs­verordnung und das daraus resul­tierende EET, bspw.
  • Richt­linie 2014/65/EU über Märkte für Finanz­instrumente (MiFID II)
  • Interne Konzern­initia­tiven oder auch frei­willige Berichts­initiativen wie AOA, SASB usw.

Ziele des ESG-Repor­tings

Die Ziele der ESG KPI-Berech­nungen sind sehr viel­fältig: Es handelt sich hier um Zu­lieferungen ­via beste­hender Schnittstellen­ zum Konzernreporting­, um standardisierte­ Reports oder auch um Self Service­ ­ESG ­Dashboards. Ebenso werden Datenprodukte im “Data as a Service” Gedanken an weitere Folgesysteme, z. B. für das ­Nachhaltigkeitscontrolling und die aktive ESG-Steuerung, bereitgestellt.